Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M-Kingsville students bring back awards from annual contest

KINGSVILLE - April 18, 2013

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Students from the art, communications and theatre department at Texas A&M University-Kingsville came back from the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association conference in Fort Worth with 27 awards, more than any other school in The Texas A&M University System.

A highlight of the awards ceremony was that A&M-Kingsville communications lecturer Don Fisher was named Adviser of the Year. He is currently adviser to The South Texas and interim director of student media. The Adviser of the Year is nominated by the students. 

Mark Molina from Santa Rosa and Colton Williams from Bishop won multiple awards and were the only two A&M-Kingsville students to bring home first place awards. Molina won first place in news photo and Williams placed first in sports action photo.

Molina also was second in sports news story and honorable mention for sport column, sports page design and special edition (shared). Williams received honorable mentions for sports feature photo, special edition (shared), sports page design and best interactivity online.

Alejandra Garza from Hebbronville was the only Javelina to win multiple awards in the live contest. She received second place in feature photo, third place in two-person photo essay (shared) and honorable mentions in online interactivity and in-depth reporting.

Other winners included  J.J. Adams from Alice, third place in live two-person photo essay (shared), honorable mention in sports action photo, special edition (shared) and best interactivity online (shared); Philip Perez from Corpus Christi, second place in photo illustration and honorable mention in magazine picture story; Josette Adame from Edinburg, honorable mention in illustration; Archi Reyna from Kingsville, second place and honorable mention in Spanish writing; Israel Mendez from Three Rivers, honorable mentions for television sports, online video (shared) and television documentary (shared); and Christian Acevedo from San Benito, honorable mention television documentary (shared) and best online video (shared).

Joseph Frymire from San Antonio won honorable mention in live editorial writing, online site excellence, best slide show and best online interactivity (shared); Sabrina Reyna from Corpus Christi received an honorable mention for best online interactivity (shared); Sydney Hernandez from Palmview won honorable mention in live television advertising; Fares Sabawi from Portland won honorable mention for live television news and best online interactivity (shared); J. D. Arredondo from Colorado Springs, Colorado received honorable mention in public service announcement promo; and Mary Beth Cleavelin from Corpus Christi received an honorable mention in news feature.


This page was last updated on: April 18, 2013