Personnel Profile

Dr. Greg Sanders, Regents Professor

Dr. Greg Sanders

The music of composer Greg Sanders has been called "powerful" by the New York Times and has received numerous performances both in the US and abroad.  His music has been featured on National Public Radio, CBS' "Osgood File" and has been performed on five continents and in all 50 States. 

Performances of his music include the Indianapolis Symphony, Samara National Symphony (Russia), Boston Metropolitan Wind Symphony, Lakeshore Wind Symphony (Milwaukee), Peoria Symphony, Northeast Arkansas Symphony, Central Illinois Youth Symphony, North/South Consonance (NY), Gregg Smith Singers, Res Musica International Festival, Bodensee Music Festival (Germany), Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinic, Philadelphia New Music Festival, Memphis New Music Festival, Saint Louis Cathedral (LA), DCI (Drum Corp International), University of Taipei (Taiwan), University of Melbourne, Royal Danish Marine Band, the Kitakyushu (Japan) Wind Festival as well as over 1100 universities and secondary school performances.

Dr. Sanders is currently Regents Professor of Music at Texas A&M University-Kingsville where he serves as Coordinator of Music Theory/Composition Studies, and has previously taught at Bradley University, Arkansas State University, and the University of North Texas.

His numerous commissions include both professional and non-professional groups, as well as works for younger performance. His music is published by Southern Music, MMB Music and TRN Music.   He is a member of Broadcast Music Incorporated (BMI).

His music appeals to a wide spectrum of listeners as demonstrated by many favorable reviews and numerous awards. Honors include composition awards and grants from Broadcast Music Incorporated, Texas Orchestra Directors Association, The Continental Harmony Project American Composer’s Forum, Sigma Alpha Iota, ASCAP, College Band Directors National Association, Phi Kappa Lambda, MENC, National Federation of Music Clubs, Music Teacher National Association, and the Lilly Foundation. His orchestral work “Prairie Dreams: The River’s Echo” was nominated for the 1992 Pulitzer Prize. Information about the composer and his music can be found at

Contact Information

Music Department
BMUS 212
MSC 174 Texas A&M University-Kingsville
Kingsville, Texas 78363-8202
voice: 361-593-2156
Personal Website:

This page was last updated on: November 15, 2017