Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officers Standards and Education
The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officers Standards and Education issues licenses to peace officers, county jailers, and a certificate to investigative hypnotists. In each case, an applicant must meet certain training and examination standards prior to licensing. The licensing examination follows required training or its equivalent, and each is an independent licensing requirement.
To be eligible to sit for an examination, an examinee must,
(1) bring to the examination site, and display upon request, identification issued by the state or federal government with the examinee's photograph;
(2) Know their correct TCLEOSE PID
(3) report on time
Photo identification may be:
(1) Valid driver's license(preferred);
(2) law enforcement agency identification with photo or
(3) United states government issued photo identification.
Examination Time limit and number of Questions
|Type of Examinee||Number of Questions||Time Limit|
|Peace Officer||250||2 3/4 hour|
|Police Officer to Jailer||100||1.5 hour|
The regular test registration fee is $26.00. All fee must be paid 24 hours in advance. All fees are non-refundable. Fees can be paid online, cash, or check. Credit and debit cards can be used at our online store only.
Walk-ins are allowed 30 minutes prior to testing. The total fee for walk-ins is $36 (depends on availability).
Examinees will receive a computerized printout of results immediately after the exam. Included will be an analysis showing results for each topic.
Individuals with diagnosed disabilities may request reasonable accommodation PRIOR to the scheduling of the INITIAL licensing examination per applicable laws. Special accommodations will NOT be granted after the third failed attempt.
Request for accommodation shall be made in written, notarized format, 90 days prior to the scheduling a licensing examination, preferably before an endorsement is issued. These requests should be submitted to TCLEOSE for review and determination. Request responses will be mailed no later than 60 days after receipt of request.
Individuals must submit the request for accommodation along with any requested documents to:
6330 US Highway 290, East, Suit 200
Austin, Texas 78723
for more information go to http://www.tcleose.state.tx.us/
This page was last updated on: February 8, 2016