Magdalena "Maggie" Williams, Registrar
College Hall 150. MSC 105. Extension 2811.
Texas Academic Skills Program (TASP)
The Texas Academic Skills Program (TASP) is required by Texas law to ensure that students enrolled in Texas public colleges possess the academic skills needed to perform effectively in college-level course work. TASP includes a testing component designed to identify and provide diagnostic information about the reading, mathematics and writing skills of each student.
Nonexempt students, including students transferring from private or out-of-state colleges, are required to take the TASP test prior to enrollment or no later than the 12th class day of the first semester of enrollment. Students who meet any of the following criteria are admitted unconditionally: (1) ACT composite score of 23, with a minimum of 19 on both the English and the math sections of the test; (2) SAT combined verbal and math score of 1070, with a minimum of 500 on both the verbal and math sections of the test; (3) TAAS minimum writing score of 1770 with a Texas Learning Index (TLI) of 86 on the math and 89 on the reading; or (4) TASP combined scores of at least 230 in reading, 220 in writing, and 270 in math. ACT and SAT scores must be less than 5 years old, while TAAS scores must be less than 3 years old, on the first day of the student's initial enrollment for an exemption status to be valid. Any student who had earned at least 3 college-level credit hours prior to September 1989 is exempt from the TASP.
Students are exempt from the TASP if they are currently "serving on active duty as a member of the armed forces of the United States." (H.B. 234). High school students who graduate from a public high school, or an accredited private high school in any state, with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale and have completed the recommended or advanced high school curriculum are exempt from having to take the TASP. (H.B. 2109).
Nonexempt students who fail to pass the TASP test must participate in appropriate developmental education until all sections of the test are passed. If the TASP is failed, it is the students' responsibility to contact a College I adviser in the TASP office at Texas A&M University-Kingsville immediately to arrange for appropriate developmental education. Failure to do so could result in a student being withdrawn from the university without a refund of tuition or fees. For more detailed TASP information, contact the TASP office at 361-593-3308.
Fulfillment of all three parts of the state's TASP requirement (score of 270 for math) or completion of WRIT 0300, READ 0300 and ALGE 0301 with a grade of C or better is prerequisite for BIOL 1108, BIOL 1111, BIOL 1113, BIOL 1308, BIOL 1311 and BIOL 1313; fulfillment of the state's TASP requirement for college-level math (score of 270) or completion of ALGE 0301 with a grade of C or better is prerequisite for CHEM 1405-CHEM 1407, CHEM 1481 and CHEM 1483; fulfillment of the state's TASP reading and writing requirement or completion of WRIT 0300 and/or READ 0300 with a grade of C or better is prerequisite for ENGL 1301; HIST 1301, HIST 1302, HIST 2321 and HIST 2322; and POLS 2301, POLS 2302 and POLS 2304.
Texas A&M University-Kingsville places very strong emphasis on developing a one-to-one individual academic advisory relationship between each student and a faculty adviser. This relationship is essential when a student participates in the registration process.
Academic colleges and their departments have specific academic advising procedures, requirements and schedules for students' degree plans and for procedures to register for classes. A student's adviser is normally in the department offering the field in which the student is majoring. The Office of the Registrar will assist a student who needs help in locating an appropriate academic adviser.
A student who remains unsure of a major would profit by discussing this with an academic adviser or by going to the university counseling center or the Career Services Center to receive career counseling and testing or other appropriate referral. Some vocational aptitude tests and tests designed to help a student select a major are available.
A student's course of study is drawn up in consultation with the appropriate adviser and must be approved by the chair of the department and the dean of the college involved. Final degree plans must be approved by the dean of the college in which the major is taken. All undergraduate degrees must conform to "General Requirements for Graduation" set forth in the next section of the catalog.
The term "course" means a definite unit of work in a subject. Courses are offered on a semester basis. University course offerings are listed in this catalog by college and by department or program within that college according to the following method:
Letter Code: A four letter code at the beginning identifies the department or program that offers the course. A list of these letter codes is provided just after the index to the catalog.
Number Code: The four digit code distinguishes each course in that department or program and identifies the level at which it is offered. The first and second digits in the course number hold specific meanings. The first digit indicates the course level (1000 freshman; 2000 sophomore; 3000 junior; 4000 senior; 5000 graduate; 6000 doctoral) and the second digit indicates semester credit hours for the course. Courses numbered at the 1000 and 2000 level are lower division courses that are normally introductory in nature. Upper division courses numbered 3000 and 4000 are advanced undergraduate courses that normally require junior or senior standing and/or the completion of a preceding course or courses. Courses numbered 5000 and 6000 are open only to students with graduate standing. (Some courses in the 4000 series also carry graduate credit; these are listed in the graduate section of the catalog.)
Title: The identification code is followed by the course title. The identification code and a shortened form of the course title are used to list courses in the Class Schedule bulletin published each semester for registration purposes and on a student's permanent transcript.
Two-Year College Equivalency: Courses commonly taught at two year colleges in the State of Texas are identified immediately following the title of the equivalent course by a four-letter, four-number code in parentheses. When such an entry appears, the university accepts those courses as the equivalent. No work taken at a two year college can be transferred as an upper division course.
Credit Hours: The final information given on a course listing's entry line indicates the semester credit hours of the course. When the letter V appears, the course is offered for variable credit, to be determined at the time of registration. The two digits in parentheses following the semester credit hours are the number of hours of lecture and the number of hours of laboratory required each week respectively.
Course Description and Special Conditions: Below the entry line is a brief description of the course, a notice of any special restrictions for registration in the course, and an indication, if any, of a laboratory fee.
The university has a computer-assisted registration system. This system allows a student who registers early priority in course selection and class schedule. It is designed to provide individual academic advising between faculty and student. This gives students an opportunity to review their academic programs and select the specific sections of the courses desired for the next semester. For specific dates and information on registration, the student should consult the Class Schedule bulletin.
The university has a computer assisted registration system which allows students to register either on campus or via the telephone. Telephone registration is available for eligible students only and requires an advisor-issued personal identification number to access. Academic advising is required prior to registration. Specific registration dates and information is provided in the Class Schedule.
The university has a computer-assisted registration system which allows students to register over the web. Web registration is available for eligible students only and requires an adviser-issued personal identification number to access. Academic advising is required prior to registration. Specific registration dates, instructions, and information is provided in the Class Schedule.
The normal load for a semester is usually one-eighth of the total number of credit hours required for the degree toward which the student is working. That load is normally 16-18 hours per fall and spring semesters. The normal load for a summer session is 6 semester hours. Kinesiology courses are not included in this load calculation.
A regular undergraduate student, defined as one carrying a minimum of 12 semester hours, is expected to register each semester for a normal load of work. A student registered for fewer than 12 semester hours is considered a part-time student.
In a summer term an undergraduate student may take, in addition to the 6 hour load, a EDKN activity course. Students with a B average (3.0) for the last semester or term of registration may register for a maximum of 8 semester hours of academic work during one summer term only.
A freshman may not register for more than the normal load during the first semester. Any succeeding semester or term, a student may register for more than the normal load (an "overload") only on the approval of the respective college dean. The maximum load for a student registered for any work for graduate credit is 15 hours a semester.
No student shall be allowed any credits for a course before credit in its prerequisite is obtained, except on the written approval of the chair of the department offering the course and the dean of the college in which the student is majoring.
All students must have successfully completed ENGL 1301 and ENGL 1302 during their first 75 semester hours of credit. No additional 3000- or 4000-level courses may be taken or transferred in until this requirement is met.
Dropping a Course
A course may be dropped only with the permission of the student's major adviser or dean. The student must take the proper authorization to the departmental area immediately for recording and fee assessment. After census date all drops are processed in the Office of the Registrar. A student who, by dropping a course, becomes registered for less than a normal load will be reclassified as a part-time student. Quitting a course without approval may be regarded as sufficient reason for requiring the student to withdraw from the university.
If a student drops the only course for which enrolled, the student must follow the process for withdrawing from the university as stated below.
Adding a Course
A course may be added only with the permission of the student's major adviser or dean. The student must take the proper authorization to the academic department immediately for recording and fee assessment. (See regulation on "Normal Load.") The student may only add classes during the time specified in the official academic calendar.
Withdrawal from the University
If a student finds it necessary to withdraw during the session, the student must notify the Office of the Registrar and process a withdrawal form. If the withdrawal is before the midsemester point, the student will receive an automatic grade of Q in each course. If the withdrawal is after the midsemester point, the student will receive a grade of Q or F, depending on whether the student is passing or failing at the time of the withdrawal. If the student abandons the courses registered for without officially withdrawing, the student will receive a grade of F in each course, regardless of the time the student ceased to attend classes. (See also regulations entitled "Refund of Fees.")
Withdrawal of Students Ordered to Military Active Duty
If a current student is called to active duty, the student has several options for enrolled courses. The student must provide a copy of military orders to receive one of the following: 1) full refund of tuition and fees paid by the student for the semester in which the student withdraws; 2) with instructor approval, incomplete grade(s) for the semester in which the student withdraws; or 3) with instructor approval, assignment of an appropriate final grade(s) or credit(s). Upon the student's request, pre-registered classes will be dropped. If the student returns prior to the beginning of a semester he/she will be reinstated into this institution.
Excess Undergraduate Credit Hours (48 Hour Rule)
(a) The limitation on funding of excess undergraduate credit hours applies only to hours generated by students who initially enroll as undergraduates in an institution of higher education in the 1999 fall semester or in a subsequent term. If a student has been enrolled as an undergraduate student in any public or private institution of higher education during any term prior to the 1999 fall semester, the student's credit hours are exempt.
(b) Semester credit hours generated by non-resident students paying tuition at the rate provided for Texas residents are subject to the same limitations as hours generated by resident students.
Limitation on formula funding
Funding of excess undergraduate semester credit hours is limited as follows:
(a) Institutions may not submit for formula funding semester credit hours attempted by an undergraduate student who has previously attempted 45 or more semester credit hours beyond the minimum number of hours required for completion of the associate or baccalaureate degree program in which the student is enrolled.
(b) An undergraduate student at a four-year institution who is not enrolled in a degree program is considered to be enrolled in a degree program requiring a minimum of 120 semester credit hours.
(c) An undergraduate student at a two-year institution who is not enrolled in a degree or certificate program is considered to be enrolled in an associate degree program requiring a minimum of 60 hours.
(d) Students who enroll on a temporary basis in a Texas public institution of higher education, and are not seeking a degree or Level-Two certificate, and are also enrolled in a private or independent institution of higher education or an out-of-state institution of higher education are considered to be enrolled in a degree program requiring a minimum of 120 semester credit hours.
(e) For the purposes of the undergraduate limit, an undergraduate student who has entered into a master's or professional degree program without first completing an undergraduate degree is considered to no longer be an undergraduate student after having completed the equivalent of a bachelor's degree or all of the course work normally taken during the first four years of undergraduate course work in the student's degree program.
(f) The following types of semester credit hours are exempt and do not count toward the limit:
(1) semester credit hours earned by the student before receiving a baccalaureate degree that has been previously awarded to the student;
(2) semester credit hours earned through examination or similar method without registering for a course;
(3) semester credit hours from remedial and developmental courses, technical courses, workforce education courses or other courses that would not generate academic credit that could be applied to an associate or baccalaureate degree at the institution;
(4) semester credit hours earned by the student at a private institution or an out-of-state institution; and
(5) any semester credit hours not eligible for formula funding.
An institution of higher education may charge a higher tuition rate, not to exceed the rate charged to nonresident undergraduate students, to an undergraduate student whose hours can no longer be submitted for formula funding because of the funding limit defined in section (a) above.
Credits earned by a student at another institution while also enrolled at A&M-Kingsville will be transferred to A&M-Kingsville only if the student has received prior written approval from the college dean. Prior approval will be granted consistent with the university's normal load regulations.
Visiting a Course
Any person may request permission of the Senior Vice President and Provost to visit a course. Individual instruction courses are not open to visitors. Visitors do not have the privilege of submitting papers, taking part in class discussions or participating in laboratory or field work. Visitors pay fees according to the published credit hour fee schedule, except that no additional fee will be required of a full-time student. A visitor's name will not be entered on the class rolls or permanent records. The notice of approval of a request to visit a course, properly receipted after fees are paid, will serve as a permit to attend a class.
Course Attendance by Senior Citizens
A senior citizen (age 65 or older) may visit courses offered by this university without payment of a fee if space is available. Laboratory courses or individual instruction courses cannot be opened to visitors. Visitors do not have the privilege of submitting papers, taking part in class discussions or participating in laboratories or field work. The names of visitors will not be entered on the class rolls or permanent records. The visiting of courses by senior citizens will be subject to restrictions as may be determined by the chief administrative officer or designated representative on campus.
A student has the right to expect competent, well-organized instruction for the full number of clock hours allotted for a course; to sufficient written assignments, graded fairly and with reasonable promptness to show the student's academic standing in the course at least before midsemester; to have ample opportunity to confer with the instructor at published office hours and to review graded written work; to freedom from ridicule, discrimination, harassment or accusations in the presence of other students or faculty members; and to an avenue for appealing to higher academic authority in case of alleged unfairness by an instructor.
Cheating and Plagiarism
Students are expected to do their own course work. Simple cases of first offense cheating or plagiarism by an individual student may be handled by the instructor after consultation with the department chair. When the evidence is indisputable, the usual penalty is a grade of F on the particular paper or in the course. The student is usually confronted with the evidence in private and advised of the penalty to be assessed. The evidence will be retained for at least one full year.
For more serious cases, such as those involving repeated offenses, conspiracy with other students or the theft and selling of examination questions, a report should be made by the instructor via the department chair and dean of the college to the Senior Vice President and Provost for disciplinary action. Expulsion from the university is a normal penalty for such offenses.
A vital part of every student's education is regular attendance of class meetings. Every faculty member is to keep a current attendance record on all students. Any absences tend to lower the quality of a student's work in a course, and frequent or persistent absences may preclude a passing grade or cause a student to be dropped from one or more courses upon the request of a faculty member to the Senior Vice President and Provost.
Absences for Religious Holidays
The university will allow students who are absent from classes for the observance of a religious holy day to take an examination or complete an assignment scheduled for that day within a reasonable time after the absence if, not later than the fifteenth day after the first day of the semester, that student has notified the instructor of each class to be missed. The instructor may appropriately respond if a student fails to complete the assignment or examination within a reasonable time after the absence.
"Dead Week and Study Day"
To support the learning environment, the university will adhere to a five school day period of student study before the first scheduled final examinations each term. During this time, no required quizzes, tests or examinations (except for make-up tests and/or final examinations for graduating seniors) shall be administered. The latter does not preclude the introduction of new material in class or the administering of laboratory final examinations, nor does it create any implication that class attendance is not expected during this period. The day before final examinations are scheduled to begin will be designated as a study day. No classes will be held on this day to allow preparation time for students and faculty.
Research on Human Subjects
Research that involves human subjects must be approved by the Institutional Review Board for the Protection of Human Subjects.
Grades, with numerical values corresponding to these letters, are recorded as follows:
A Excellent, 90-100.
B Good, 80-89.
C Average, 70-79.
D Passing, 60-69.
F Failure, below 60.
I Incomplete: given to a student who is passing but has not completed a term paper, examination or other required work. The instructor and the student are required to complete the standard university contract form for each course in which the temporary grade of I has been assigned. The grade of I will be used only to allow a student who has encountered some emergency such as illness or an accident an opportunity to complete the requirements for a course. A grade of I reverts to a grade of F one year from the close of semester/term in which the grade was originally recorded if the course requirements have not been satisfied.
Q Dropped: given when a student has officially dropped or withdrawn from the university before or on the midsemester point as indicated on the official university calendar, regardless of student's standing in class. Also given after the midsemester point to a student who is passing at the time the official drop is processed. (A student who is not passing receives the grade of F under such circumstances.)
IP In Progress: used for graduate theses and dissertations. (Students must register every subsequent semester until the final grade is given.) In-progress (IP) grades remain indefinitely on a student's transcript and cannot be changed with a change-of-grade card.
S Satisfactory: used only to report dissertation progress in doctoral programs approved to use this grade.
U Unsatisfactory: used only to report dissertation progress in doctoral programs approved to use this grade.
CR/NC Credit/Noncredit: used for courses that do not meet the normal or traditional framework of course scheduling and do not lend themselves to letter grading.
X No grade posted by instructor: used to indicate that no grade was posted by the instructor teaching the course.
Removing the Grade of I
For the undergraduate student, the grade of I must be removed within the time specified by the instructor, not exceeding 12 months from the date the I was recorded. When the student completes the work in the course, the instructor submits a change of grade card through the chair of the department and the college dean to the Registrar. The grade of I may be changed only to A, B, C, D or F. Should the conditions specified above not be met, the I will become an F. Extensions of time, when merited, may be granted by the Senior Vice President and Provost after consultation with the dean of the college concerned. I grades must be completed prior to graduation. I grades not completed by the end of the semester in which the student is scheduled to graduate will turn into F's and will be calculated into the cumulative grade point average.
Change of Grade
After being reported to the Registrar, grades other than I may not be changed unless an error has been made by the instructor.
Students should review their end of semester final grades closely to ensure their accuracy. If an error or discrepancy should occur, the student should contact the appropriate professor and/or the Office of the Registrar immediately for resolvement. It is recommended that those changes occur no later than the beginning of the next semester. Under no circumstances will grades be changed after one calendar year.
Repetition of a Course
If a student repeats a course that may not be taken for additional credit, it is the policy of the university to count as part of a student's cumulative grade point average only the last grade received in the course, whether passing or failing, other than a grade of Q. However, for purposes of grade point average calculation on course work for graduation, grades stand as recorded unless the same course is repeated at this university.
Students who have received their first bachelor's degree from this institution cannot repeat courses that were used to earn the first degree for purposes of grade point average calculation.
It is the responsibility of the student, after repeating a course, to file a special request form in the Office of the Registrar, so that the adjustment in the grade point average, when applicable, can be entered on the permanent record.
Repeated Grade Notation
Repeated course(s) and grade(s) are not removed from the official or unofficial transcript. The repeated grade and grade points will be removed from the cumulative grade point average only. The repeated course will be identified with a statement, "Repeated (excluded from GPA)", below the repeated course. Repeating a course after graduation will not change your graduation grade point average.
Freshman: fewer than 30 semester hours of credit.
Sophomore: at least 30 semester hours of credit, but fewer than 60 semester hours.
Junior: at least 60 semester hours of credit, but fewer than 90 semester hours.
Senior: at least 90 semester hours of credit.
Grade Point Average
The grade point average accumulated on the permanent record of a student at A&M-Kingsville will be based on course and grade points earned by a student on work taken at this university. Transfer courses will be accepted as credit only. Such credit may be used for fulfilling degree requirements and graduation requirements. (For information on specific college admission, certification and graduation requirements, refer to the appropriate section of this catalog.)
A student's grade average on this university's work is expressed in grade points. Each semester hour of A counts four points, B three points, C two points, D one point and F zero points. The cumulative, or overall, grade point average (GPA) is computed by dividing the total quality points earned by the total number of quality hours. Transferred and credit only hours are not computed in the cumulative A&M-Kingsville grade point average.
Grade Point Summary
All official and unofficial transcripts will have the following abbreviations:
AHRS - Attempted Hours - TAMUK and transfer courses (all grades)
EHRS - Earned Hours - TAMUK and transfer courses (passed/credit)
QHRS - Quality Hours - TAMUK courses only (passed/failed)
QPTS - Quality Points - TAMUK courses only.
GPA - Grade Point Average - QPTS/QHRS
Honor Roll, Dean's List and President's List
Full-time undergraduate students of highest academic rank will be honored each semester by the publication of their names on the President's List, Dean's List and the Honor Roll List. The President's List requires a grade point average of 4.00 on all work attempted for a particular semester, with a minimum of 15 semester undergraduate hours completed, exclusive of credit only (CR) courses. The Dean's List requires a grade point average of 3.65 on all work attempted for a particular semester, with a minimum of 13 semester undergraduate hours completed, exclusive of credit only (CR) courses. The Honor Roll requires a grade point average of 3.5 on all work attempted for a particular semester, with a minimum of 12 semester undergraduate hours, exclusive of credit only (CR) courses.
Minimum Grade Requirements
The minimum grade point requirement for students who are considered to be making satisfactory academic progress is a 2.0 overall grade point average and is the GPA required for graduation. All transfer students must have a cumulative 2.0 GPA to transfer into A&M-Kingsville.
Students will be placed on scholastic probation any time their overall grade point average at A&M-Kingsville falls below 2.0. Such students are required to participate to the fullest in academic support programs and to seek academic advising. Students who have been placed on scholastic probation will be removed from such probation at the conclusion of the semester or summer term at this university when they have achieved a 2.0 grade point average.
Students who have been placed on scholastic probation and fail to achieve the minimum cumulative grade point average in their next long semester of enrollment will be placed on enforced withdrawal for the subsequent semester. Students with less than three enforced withdrawals may be granted permission to register again on scholastic probation after an absence of one long semester from the university.
Following an absence of two years from Texas A&M-Kingsville, a student may be allowed to enroll providing a minimum of a 2.5 grade point average is achieved during each term in which the student is enrolled. This provision must be approved by the appropriate college dean each semester until an overall 2.0 grade point average is achieved.
Removal of Enforced Withdrawal Status by Summer Study
Students placed on enforced withdrawal for the first or second time by this university are eligible to attend the succeeding summer session at this university. If, at the conclusion of one or both summer terms at this university, the student achieved a cumulative grade point average of 2.0 or higher, the student's withdrawal status will be removed. Students placed on enforced withdrawal for the third time are not eligible for summer study unless approval is given by the appropriate dean.
Readmission After Three Withdrawals
A student placed on enforced withdrawal the third time will not be permitted to register again at A&M-Kingsville without the approval of the appropriate college dean. Approval can only be considered after an absence of at least one long semester.
A current transcript and a petition explaining the reasons improved academic performance can be expected in the summer or regular session must be submitted to the dean of the college in which the student wishes readmission. In order to receive consideration, this must be done prior to registration for the semester in which the student is eligible to request readmission.
The Student's Permanent Record
Official transcripts of the student's academic record may be requested in writing or in person from the Office of the Registrar at no cost. The student should list the complete name as recorded while attending the university, social security number, date of birth, first and last enrollment, number of transcripts requesting, and the address where the transcript(s) are to be mailed. All transcript requests must be signed by the student; failure to sign the request will delay processing. Transcript requests may be faxed but must have all required information and signature.
A student must provide identification at the Office of the Registrar when picking up a copy of a transcript in person. The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974, and amendments thereto, states that parents, spouse, legal guardian or others are not authorized to pick up transcripts of students unless written authorization by the student is provided.
All students, including continuing education students, should clear any holds they have on their records immediately. Failure to clear a hold causes delays and inconvenience when trying to obtain copies of transcripts through the mail or in person. Since a hold on the record may affect printing and mailing of grades at the end of the semester, students should be sure they do not have any holds before final examinations start. Students with a registration hold on their record will not be permitted to register.
Change of Name, Address, or Social Security Number
Students who wish to change their name on their transcript must provide legal documentation of the change to the Office of the Registrar. Not advising the Office of the Registrar of a legal name change may cause transcript requests and registration problems. Students who change their address should likewise notify the Office of the Registrar, Financial Aid or Business Office.
Death of a Student
The death of a currently enrolled student should be reported to the Office of the Registrar immediately. After confirming the death, the Office of the Registrar notifies the appropriate faculty and academic dean, closes all student records and codes the student information system to block mailings to the deceased.
Entrance Examination Credit--Entering Freshmen
American College Testing (ACT) based on the English section:
25 or 26 - ENGL 1301
27 or above - ENGL 1302
Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) based on the SAT V section:
Prior to April 1995 - 595 for ENGL 1301; 600 or above for ENGL 1302
Starting April 1995 - 630 for ENGL 1301; 670 or above for ENGL 1302
The following courses will be awarded for math credit:
1. MATH 1314 - three semester hours will be awarded provided the student has satisfactorily completed three units or three years of high school mathematics including one unit or one year of algebra and one unit or one year of geometry.
2. MATH 1316 - three semester hours will be awarded provided the student has completed the three units or three years of high school mathematics described in #1 (above) plus one-half unit or one-half year of high school trigonometry.
3. MATH 1348 - three semester hours of credit will be awarded provided the student has completed the three units or three years of mathematics described in #1 (above) plus one unit or one year of high school precalculus.
Based on the scores listed below:
American College Testing (ACT) - 28 or above
Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT):
Prior to April 1995 - 590 or above
Starting April 1995 - 600 or above
Credit by CEEB Advanced Placement Examination
Entering freshmen who have satisfactorily passed one or more of the Advanced Placement Examinations of the College Entrance Examination Board are eligible for university credit in appropriate courses.
The examinations may be taken at approved high school testing centers, usually in May, by arrangement with the College Entrance Examination Board, Box 592, Princeton, NJ 08542. Requests for information and applications for tests should be mailed to this address. The placement examinations are different from the Achievement Test administered by the College Board. Submission of examination scores and requests for credit in these courses should be directed to the Office of Admission.
Credit in the following courses at this university may be gained through the Advanced Placement Examinations:
A&M-Kingsville Equivalent Subject Examinations Minimum Score
ARTS 1316, ARTS 1317 (6 Cr) Art-Studio 3+
ARTS 1303, ART 1304 (6 Cr) Art-History of Art 3+
BIOL 1308/1108, BIOL 1311/1111, BIOL 1313/1113
(12 Cr) Biology 4
CHEM 1311 (3 Cr) Chemistry 4
CHEM 1311, CHEM 1312 (6 Cr) Chemistry 5
CSEN 2326 (3 Cr) Computer Science A 3+
ECON 2301 (3 Cr) Economics-Macroeconomics 3+
ECON 2302 (3 Cr) Economics-Microeconomics 3+
ENGL 1301 (3 Cr) English-Language & Composition 3+
FREN 1311, FREN 1312, FREN 2311, FREN 2312 (12 Cr) French-French Language/Literature 3
FREN 1311, FREN 1312, FREN 2311, FREN 2312, FREN 33–
(15 Cr) French-French Language/Literature 4
FREN 1311, FREN 1312, FREN 2311, FREN 2312, FREN 33–, FREN 33– (18 Cr) French-French Language/Literature 5
HIST 1301, HIST 1302 (6 Cr) History-U.S. History 3+
MATH 2313 (3 Cr) Mathematics-Calculus AB 3+
MATH 2313, MATH 2314 (6 Cr) Mathematics-Calculus BC 3+
MUSI 1316, MUSI 1317, MUSI 1116, MUSI 1117 (8 Cr) Music-Theory
MUSI 2306 (3 Cr) Music-Listening & Literature 3+
PHYS 1301/1101, PHYS 1302/1102 (8 Cr) Physics B 3+
PHYS 2325/2125, PHYS 2326/2126 (8 Cr) Physics C 3+
POLS 2301 (3 Cr) Government & Politics-US 3+
PSYC 2301 (3 Cr) Psychology 3+
SPAN 1313 (3 Cr) Spanish-Language 3
SPAN 1313, SPAN 1314 (6 Cr) Spanish-Language 4
SPAN 1313, SPAN 1314, SPAN
2311 (9 Cr) Spanish-Language 5
STAT 1342 (3 Cr) Statistics 3+
College Level Examination Program Examination
and Course Equivalency Guide (CLEP)
CLEP is a local standardized examination administered on computer. Examinees receive immediate score reports for all exams with some exceptions. Credit by CLEP examinations is available in the courses listed below to any A&M-Kingsville students at any time during their college career. The exception is that students will not be eligible for credit in a course for which they have received credit in a more advanced course unless otherwise designated by the chair of the department in which the subject is offered. Both general and subject examinations are offered through the Life Services and Wellness Testing Office. Information on time, examination fees and location for these tests may be obtained from the Testing Office at 361-593-3303.
A&M-Kingsville Equivalent Subject Examinations Minimum Score
ACCT 2301 (3 Cr) Intro Accounting 50
BIOL 1311/1111, BIOL 1313/1113 (8 Cr) General Biology 50
CHEM 1311, CHEM 1312 (6 Cr) General Chemistry 50
ECON 2301 (3 Cr) Intro Macroeconomics 50
ECON 2302 (3 Cr) Intro Microeconomics 50
FREN 1311, FREN 1312 (6 Cr) College French 60
BLAW 3341 (3 Cr) Intro Business Law 50
HIST 1301 (3 Cr) American History I 50
HIST 1302 (3 Cr) American History II 50
MKTG 3361 (3 Cr) Principles of Marketing 50
MATH 2313 (3 Cr) Calculus with Elementary Functions 50
MATH 1314 (3 Cr) College Algebra 50
MATH 1316 (3 Cr) Trigonometry 50
MATH 1348 (3 Cr) Algebra-Trigonometry 50
POLS 2301 (3 Cr) American Government 50
PSYC 2301 (3 Cr) General Psychology 50
PSYC 2302 (3 Cr) Human Growth & Development 50
SOCI 1301 (3 Cr) Intro Sociology 50
Credit by Local Examination (Departmental)
Local examinations are available to students for organized class courses not designated for credit by the College Level Examination Program (CLEP). The student should contact the department in which the course is offered for information about the examinations. Eligibility will be determined by the department and will be dependent on a student's particular qualifications due to study or work experience. The department will also determine whether or not the student's performance on the local examination merits university credit and whether any further requirements for credit are to be met. Students may not receive credit by local examination in a subject in which they have already received a grade in the same course or in a more advanced course. There is no fee charged for these examinations.
This page was last updated on: January 06, 2012